Juvenile Bald Eagle (Actually this is a Turkey Vulture)

On Monday, I made a trip to the wetlands and to my surprise; I saw a bird I’ve never seen before. It was soaring; wings spread wide flying without worry. Floating free in the blue skies he passed me overheard. It was then when I saw the number 26 underneath its wing. It was quite a sight and I stayed there frozen for a moment as I took this bird in.
I’ve never seen a bird marked that way and I could feel my excitement as I snapped some pics to show my bird guru. I should mention that he is the one that got me my bird book and encouraged me to learn their names (thank you).
I was confident that he would be able to help me identify this bird – that is as long as the pictures came out ok. I knew I was limited of the type of picture I could get because I only have the standard lens that came with my Canon but I was hoping they would be good enough.
It was so happy, no I was overjoyed, when he told me that this was a juvenile bald eagle (Haliaeetus leucocephalus) and how this was so rare for a city girl like me to see.

What an experience!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Amendment: Thanks to the yahoo group I joined, they have kindly told me that this is a Turkey Vulture (Cathartes aura).  This is all so very interesting to me. 
Thank you all for everyone for being so nice to me as I am just learning here. 

Tom left this info on the comments and I thought I would post it here in case someone else runs across a tagged Turkey Vulture.

This is a patagial tagged Turkey Vulture. For those of you interested in learning more about the banding program you can read about it on the Sea & Sage Audubon society website;

http://seaandsageaudubon.org/Conservation/BirdResearch/TurkeyVultures.html

If anyone sees any of these tagged vultures I would encourage you to share your data with the study. It is also fun to find out where the bird was tagged. The contact information is as follows;

“If you see any Turkey Vultures with a wing tag – please send the information listed above to the Bird Banding Laboratory at: https://www.pwrc.usgs.gov/bbl/bblretrv/index.cfm
Please also contact Pete Bloom at petebloom@…, or Scott Thomas at redtail1@… .
Your information will help the biologists learn more about the movements of these Turkey Vultures, which is pertinent information for their study. We appreciate your help!

Data Needed —
• Your Name and Contact Info
• Photos (if available)
• Location of Sighting
• Date of Sighting
• Tag info such as: white tag with the number on left wing
• Brief behavior notes such as: perched, soaring, foraging, etc.”

14 thoughts on “Juvenile Bald Eagle (Actually this is a Turkey Vulture)

    1. Thank you for letting me know.
      I was wondering if you knew why it has the number 26(?) under it’s wing. I never seen that before on a bird.

      Like

        1. Hi Brian,
          Yes, I just replied with a thank you and now I see another comment from Tom posting the same info that he sent to the group. I will amend my post. 🙂
          Yay, for being a newbie! *said with sarcasm* 🙂
          I like learning something new though so I am happy about that and that cancels the other negative emotions I am feeling right now. 🙂

          Thanks again,
          Lita

          Like

    1. I hope you aren’t asking me this question to be malicious. Everyone makes mistakes at one time or another and he knows far more than I could ever know and in my eyes that makes him my bird guru. 🙂
      Have a nice day bernie.

      Like

  1. This is a patagial tagged Turkey Vulture. For those of you interested in learning more about the banding program you can read about it on the Sea & Sage Audubon society website;
    http://seaandsageaudubon.org/Conservation/BirdResearch/TurkeyVultures.html

    If anyone sees any of these tagged vultures I would encourage you to share your data with the study. It is also fun to find out where the bird was tagged. The contact information is as follows;

    “If you see any Turkey Vultures with a wing tag – please send the information listed above to the Bird Banding Laboratory at: https://www.pwrc.usgs.gov/bbl/bblretrv/index.cfm
    Please also contact Pete Bloom at petebloom@…, or Scott Thomas at redtail1@… .
    Your information will help the biologists learn more about the movements of these Turkey Vultures, which is pertinent information for their study. We appreciate your help!

    Data Needed —
    • Your Name and Contact Info
    • Photos (if available)
    • Location of Sighting
    • Date of Sighting
    • Tag info such as: white tag with the number on left wing
    • Brief behavior notes such as: perched, soaring, foraging, etc.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What awesome shots! No matter the name, it is a very interesting-looking bird. I’m impressed with the wingspan. Wow! Thanks for sharing the photos with us. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Dulce and now I am glad everyone knows what this bird really is despite my picture not being very clear.
      He is still impressive.

      Like

Leave a Reply

