Weekly Photo Challenge: New

new rainbow

This is the beginning of a bright new day
Dreams and desires are here to stay
With this pledge in our hearts
Put all hurt aside and let us not part

click here to see other participants.

Note: I do wonder if I had my real camera (Not my iPhone) would the picture come out better.  At this time I will never know but I am glad I was able to capture this.

By the way I do like how the rainbow landed on that bus… Do you think he was carrying a pot a gold?

20 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: New

  1. Very nicely done! I like how you included a ton of sky but only a small sliver of land where the rainbow ends. Would it have come out better? I doubt it. Other than that this looks a little noisy, I can’t see anything with this photo that a DSLR would have done better. The compositions is quite good, love the square crop too.
    I’ll leave you with my favorite Ansel Adams quote. “The single most important component of the camera is the twelve inches behind it.”

    Like

    1. Jeff, thank you so much for taking the time to write this. I am glad that you liked the way I took the photo. It gives me encouragement. 🙂

      Now you got me swooning about the Ansel Adams quote. He was one of my faves. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I wish more people were familiar with the concept behind that quote. The camera is the least important part of making a great, or even just a good photo. The person holding the camera, their eye, that’s how a photograph is made. You made a very good photo. Even if it was just a cell phone 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I know one guy who basically got conned and he bought all this expensive camera and lenses thinking he was going to take great photographs. I don’t need to tell you that never happened and last I heard the camera (a Nikon *wink*) was collecting dust.

          Thank you again, Jeff

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I see examples of that every time I go to a function at my daughters school. People with deep pockets shooting high end DSLRs, with virtually 100% of them with it set to the green box (the dead give-away is the flash popping up every time they’re getting ready to take a picture. Even if they happen to be all the way across the gym from the stage).

            To tell you the truth, I also find it more than a bit insulting when people say, “Wow, you must have a really great camera.” Several times, if the person has caught me in a mood, I tell them with a totally straight face, they were taken with my iPhone.

            Like

          2. If you’re going to use the green box why not save a ton of money, and not have to carry all that weight?

            Saucy, that’s me alright! The look of confusion on their faces while they try to figure out if I’m serious about taking my photos with an iPhone is priceless.

            Like

          3. There are some amazingly good point and shoot cameras. 🙂

            I can imagine that look… no wonder you and I get along so well. 🙂

            Like

          4. There most certainly are. In fact I generally steer most people towards them. I find that with a little digging and asking the right questions that a lot of people would be better served with a good point and shoot instead of a DSLR.

            Like

          5. Yes! There are a lot of DSLRs out there collecting dust because people get frustrated and give up trying to lear how to use them. Once they realize that buying an expensive fancy camera often leads to “Why don’t my pictures look like -insert name of admired photographer here-.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha! I love how you think there might be a pot of gold in that bus. Well captured, great timing, even though it was only with a phone. I wonder if the bus driver could see if he was driving in to a rainbow 😀 Great interpretation for this week’s challenge 🙂

    Like

    1. I believe we all need a little bit of magical thinking in our lives. 🙂
      I have a feeling that he probably didn’t see it but I want to believe he did see it. 🙂

      Thank you for your kinds words.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

